The new members of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly have unanimously elected Mr Ibrahim Balarabe (APC – Umaisha/Ugya) and Mr. Godiya Akwashiki (PDP-Nassarawa Eggon West) as speaker and deputy speaker of the state’s 5th assembly respectively.

The election of the two officers was unopposed. It commenced with a motion for nomination of Balarabe as the speaker of the state’s 5th assembly by Alhaji Abubakar Imam (APC-Lafia Central). Moving the motion, Abubakar said: “My colleagues, I want to nominate Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe of Umuasha/Ugya constituency to serve as speaker of this 5th assembly considering his track record as a politician and an elder statesman in the state”.

His motion was seconded by Mallam Ibrahim Alkali (PDP-Lafia Central). Also, Mr Muluku Aggah (PDP-Nassarawa Eggon East) moved a motion for the nomination of Mr Akwashiki as the deputy speaker and his motion was seconded by Mr Makpa Mala (APC-Wamba). Clerk to the house, Mr. Ego Maikeffi, while announcing the results yesterday, said all due processes of election were followed.

Maikeffi who read Gov Tanko Al-Makura’s proclamation said that the inauguration of the new members was in line with section 105 sub-section 3 of the 1999 constitution as amended.