Map of Nasarawa State

Nasarawa State lies between latitude 7ᵒ and 9ᵒ North and longitude 7ᵒ and 1ᵒ East, and is accessible through Benue State to the South and Kogi State to the West. The Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja to the North-West, Kaduna and Plateau States to the North – East, and Taraba States to the South-East.

Nasarawa State consists of thirteen (13) Local Government Areas (shown with 2006 population figures:

Nasarawa West Senatorial District 716,802 Nasarawa North Senatorial District 335,453 Nasarawa South Senatorial District 811,020
Karu 205,477 Akwanga 113,430 Awe 112,574
Keffi 92,664 Nasarawa Egon 149,129 Doma 139,607
Kokona 109,749 Wamba 72,894 Keana 79,253
Nasarawa 189,835 Lafia 330,712
Toto 119,077 Obi 148,874

Nasarawa State is located within the middle Benue Trough as the name infers the middle portion of the Nigerian Benue Trough. The Benue Trough itself is a rift basin in Central West Africa that extends NNE–SSW for  about 800km  in  length and  150km  in  width.  The Trough contains up  to 6000M  of Cretaceous Tertiary Sediment of which those pre–dating the mid–Santonian Compression ally deformed (Benkhelil, 1989). The study area is covered with 60% Basement complex rocks while the remaining 40% is  made up  of sedimentary rocks  of the  Benue Trough.  The  Younger  Granites  intrude  the  Basement complex  at  Mada  and  Afu  and  therefore do  not  occupy  any  separate  landmass  of  their  own  of the Basement complex. Magnetite–Gneisses along with the older granites accounts  for about 70%, while rocks  of  Schistose  Lithology and  other  sedimentary  series (quartzite,  marble,  iron  ores)  in the  areas around Laminga,  Nasarawa  and  Gadabuke  made  up the remaining 30%  .Nasarawa eggon  is situated within the sedimentary basin while Udege beki fall within the younger granite location in the state (Obaje et al., 2006).