The Nasarawa Agricultural Development Programme (NADP) came into being on 1st October, 1996, when the State was created.  The Programme was bifurcated from the erstwhile Plateau Agricultural development Programme (PADP) and subsequently established by edict No 13 of 1997. The Programme’s activities cover the entire State which has a total land area of 27,118km2 with an estimate of 180,433 farming families.Nasarawa Agricultural Development Programme (NADP) is saddled with the responsibility of implementing unified Agricultural Extension Services for increased agricultural productivity and better living standards of small scale farmers. This is achieved through conduct of visits to farmers by the Extension Agents, establishment of On-Farm Trials and Management Training Plots (MTPs), procurement and distribution of Farm Inputs to farmers at cost recovery rates such as improved seeds, Agro-chemicals and farm equipment.


Support the increased Agricultural Production in the State and to raise the living standard of the rural population.


  1. Construction of feeder roads, water supply and other infrastructural Schemes with Agricultural Development.
  2. Development and Management of seed Multiplication.

iii.        Provision of Extension, Credit and Marketing Services to farmers.

  1. Procurement and selling of farm inputs.
  2. Conduct of on-farm adaptive research and promote suitable improved technology covering crops, Livestock, fisheries and agro-forestry for adoption by farmers


1.3      Programme’s Objectives

The Nasarawa Agricultural Development Programme (NADP) has the mandate of supporting small scale farmers in the State to increase their agricultural production and incomes which will eventually translate to better living standards.

 Organizational Structure

The NADP is headed by the Programme Manager which is the Chief Executive Officer, with seven (7) Departments each headed by a Director.  There are also three zones which are headed by Zonal Programme Managers.  The seven Directors and the three Zonal Programme Managers Constitute the Programme Management Unit (PMU) which is responsible for day-to-day implementation of programme activities.  Similarly, the NADP has in place the Nasarawa Agricultural Development Programme Executive Committee (ADPEC) which gives policy direction to the organization.  Membership includes: –

  • Commissioner for Agriculture             –           Chairman
  • Commissioner for Finance and Economic Planning –           Member
  • Commissioner for Commerce, Industry and Co-operatives – Member
  • Commissioner for LG & Chieftaincy Affairs –           Member
  • Commissioner for Works and Transport –           Member
  • Secretary to the State Government –           Member
  • Managing Director, Lower Benue River Basin Dev. Authority – Member
  • Director, Federal Department of Agriculture –           Member
  • Director, National Programme for food Security (NPFS) Abuja – Member
  • Farmers Representative –           Member
  • Women Representative –           Member
  • Representative of NASCCIMA –           Member
  • The Programme Manager –           Secretary


  • Projects Being Implemented
  •   General Objectives of the Projects

The overall goals of the projects implemented in the organization (NADP) are to contribute to poverty reduction and food security of small scale farmers in the state to enhance their living standard.


 Completed Projects

  • The National Programme for Food Security (NPFS) – 2008 – 2012
  • The Root and Tuber Expansion Programme (RTEP) – 2001 – 2011
  • The Multi-National NERICA Rice Dissemination Project (MNRDP) – 2004 – 2011.
  • Rice Post-Harvest Processing and Marketing Pilot Project (RIPMAPP) 2011 – 2015.
  • Rural Finance Institution Building Programme (RUFIN) 2010 – 2017.

 On-Going Projects

  • Smallholder Horticulture Empowerment and Promotion (SHEP).
  • Fostering Sustainability and Resilience for Food Security in the Savanna Zones of Northern Nigeria.
  • Value Chain Development Programme (VCDP).
  • Grant Assistance for Grass-root Human Security Project (GGP)
  • German International Cooperation Project (GIZ).


Collaborative Projects

  • West Africa Agricultural Productivity Programme (WAAPP)
  • Warehouse Receipt Scheme on Sesame Production Programme
  • Groundnut Value Chain Programme
  • Support to Agricultural Research for Development of Strategic Crops (SARD-SC) Maize Project
  • Orange Fleshed Sweet Potato (OFSP) Rainbow project.
  • Africa Rice Project.
  • SAWA-Eco Technology for Rice Farming
  • German International Cooperation Project (GIZ).