The Executive Governor heads The Nasarawa State Executive Council. It comprises the Deputy Governor, the Secretary to the state government and Commissioners. The Legislative arm of the government allows the Governor appoint special advisers.


The State Government is led by a democratically elected executive who works closely with an elected State House Assembly. The capital city is Lafia. There are Thirteen (13) local government areas (LGAs).

In 1999 Nigeria became a democratic nation, and Abdullahi Adamu contested on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and won the Governorship election in Nasarawa State. Consequently he was sworn-in on 29 May 1999. In 2003, when it was time for fresh elections, Adamu re-contested on the platform of the PDP and got a second mandate to govern. (The Constitution of Nigeria limits Governors to two terms in office.) Aliyu Akwe while also under (PDP), won the 2007 general elections to become Nasarawa’s next Governor.

Alhaji Umaru Tanko Almakura (Ta’al), the executive Governor was elected for a second term in office under the platform of All Progressive Party (APC). He handed over to Engineer Abdullahi Sule on May 29,2019

Engineer Abdullahi Sule won the gubernatorial primaries for Nasarawa State of the All Progressive Congress on October 1, 2018. On 10 March 2019, Engineer Abdullahi Sule was declared as the Governor-elect of Nasarawa State at the 2019 Governorship Election which held on March 9, 2019. He was sworn in as governor of Nasarawa State on May 29,2019.

Below is a list of offices under the Executive Council

Office of the Governor : Engineer Abdullahi A. Sule The Executive Governor
Office of the Deputy Governor : Dr. Emmanuel Akabe
Office of the Secretary to the State Governor
Office of the Head of Service
Office of the Chief of Staff
Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff




“Barr. Muhammad Ubandoma Aliyu” Secretary to the State Government

“Abigirl Waya” Head of The Civil Service

“Mr ” Permanent Secretary


 Ministry of Health


 Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development


Ministry of Agriculture & Water Resources

Ministry of Youth and Sports Development

Special Duties


Ministry of Trade, Industry & Investment

Special Duties

Ministry of Works, Housing & Transport


Ministry of Justice


Ministry of Local Government & Chieftaincy Affairs


Ministry of Finance, Budget & Economic Planning


Ministry of Lands & Urban Development


Ministry of Environment & Natural Resources


Ministry of Education, Science & Technology

Ministry of Information, Culture & Tourism

Office of the Executive Governor

The Office of the Executive Governor is charged with the following responsibilities:

(i) Administration of Nasarawa State of Nigeria;
(ii) State Security;
(iii) Inter-State Governmental Co-operation;
(iv) Appointing Authority for Membership of Boards of companies in which the State has interests;
(v) Implementation of National Policy Guidelines on Local Government Administration;
(vl) Protocol matters;
(vii) Conference Visitor Unit;
(viii) Allocation of Vehicles;
(ix) Relations with the following bodies:
(a) The Legislature;
(b) The Judiciary;
(c) State Civil Service Commission;
(d) Judicial Service Commission;
(e) Local Government Service Commission;
(f) Office of the State Auditor-General;
(g) Office of the Local Government Auditor-General;
(h) State Independent Electoral Commission;
(i) Nasarawa State Planning Commission.
(j) Bureau of Budget
(k) Nasarawa State Environmental Protection Agency
(!) State Liaison Offices

The Office of the Executive Governor comprises the Government House and Office of the Secretary to the State Government. The Government House comprises.Executive Governor’s Office and his residence, the Lodge. The Chief of Staff in-charge of Government House reports directly to the Executive Governor.

Office of the Deputy Governor

The Office of the Deputy Governor is charged with the following responsibilities:

(i) Responsibilities that may be assigned by His Excellency, the EXECUTIVE GOVERNOR from time to time;
(ii) Co-ordinates State Boundary matters;
(iii) Cocoa production and development matters;

The Office of the Deputy Governor comprises the Deputy Governor’s inner office and his residence. The Deputy Chief of Staff is in-charge of the Deputy Governor’s Office and reports directly to the Deputy Governor.

Office of the Secretary to State Government

The Secretary to the State Government is responsible for the following matters/ which are carried out in the respective Bureaux in his office:

(i) Cabinet Secretariat and Executive Council matters;
(ii) Co-ordination of Ministerial Activities;
(iii) Commission of Inquiry and White Papers;
(iv) National and State Public holidays;
(v) Election Matters;
(vi) Inter-governmental matters;
(vii) Allocation of official quarters to Political Office Holders;
(viii) National and State Emergency Management matters;
(ix) Boards of Government owned Companies;
(x) Government owned Auditorium and Conference Centres;
(xi) Immigration and Refugee matters;
(xii) Prerogative of Mercy (Secretariat);
(xiii) Conditions of Service for Political Office Holders;
(xiv) National and State H.
(xv) Finance and General Purposes Committee (Secretariat);
(xvi) Liaison with the security Agencies;
(xvii) Oaths of Public Officers;
(xviii) National Population matters;
(xix) Public Complaints/ Code of Conduct/ Federal Character Commissions;
(xx) Tribunals;
(xxi) Supervision of Nasarawa State Pilgrims Welfare Board